Random Babble

Saturday, March 18, 2006

Understanding Fibromyalgia

The Spoon Theory
My best friend and I were in the diner, talking. As usual, it was very late and we were eating French fries with ranch. Like normal girls our age, we spent a lot of time in the diner while in college, and most of the time we spent talking about boys, music or trivial things, that seemed very important at the time. We never got serious about anything in particular and spent most of our time laughing.

As I went to take some of my medicine with a snack as I usually did, she watched me with an awkward kind of stare, instead of continuing the conversation. She then asked me out of the blue what it felt like to have Fibromyalgia and be sick. I was shocked not only because she asked the random question, but also because I assumed she knew all there was to know about Fibromyalgia. She came to doctors with me, she saw me walk with a cane, and throw up in the bathroom. She had seen me cry in pain, what else was there to know?
I started to ramble on about pills, and aches and pains, but she kept pursuing, and didn't seem satisfied with my answers. I was a little surprised as being my roommate in college and friend for years; I thought she already knew the medical definition of Fibromyalgia. Then she looked at me with a face every sick person knows well, the face of pure curiosity about something no one healthy can truly understand. She asked what it felt like, not physically, but what it felt like to be me, to be sick.
As I tried to gain my composure, I glanced around the table for help or guidance, or at least stall for time to think. I was trying to find the right words. How do I answer a question I never was able to answer for myself? How do I explain every detail of every day being effected, and give the emotions a sick person goes through with clarity. I could have given up, cracked a joke like I usually do, and changed the subject, but I remember thinking if I don't try to explain this, how could I ever expect her to understand. If I can't explain this to my best friend, how could I explain my world to anyone else? I had to at least try.
At that moment, the spoon theory was born. I quickly grabbed every spoon on the table; hell I grabbed spoons off of the other tables. I looked at her in the eyes and said "Here you go, you have Fibromyalgia". She looked at me slightly confused, as anyone would when they are being handed a bouquet of spoons. The cold metal spoons clanked in my hands, as I grouped them together and shoved them into her hands.
I explained that the difference in being sick and being healthy is having to make choices or to consciously think about things when the rest of the world doesn't have to. The healthy have the luxury of a life without choices, a gift most people take for granted.
Most people start the day with unlimited amount of possibilities, and energy to do whatever they desire, especially young people. For the most part, they do not need to worry about the effects of their actions. So for my explanation, I used spoons to convey this point. I wanted something for her to actually hold, for me to then take away, since most people who get sick feel a "loss" of a life they once knew. If I was in control of taking away the spoons, then she would know what it feels like to have someone or something else, in this case Fibromyalgia, being in control.
She grabbed the spoons with excitement. She didn't understand what I was doing, but she is always up for a good time, so I guess she thought I was cracking a joke of some kind like I usually do when talking about touchy topics. Little did she know how serious I would become.
I asked her to count her spoons. She asked why, and I explained that when you are healthy you expect to have a never-ending supply of "spoons". But when you have to now plan your day, you need to know exactly how many "spoons" you are starting with. It doesn't guarantee that you might not lose some along the way, but at least it helps to know where you are starting. She counted out 12 spoons. She laughed and said she wanted more. I said no, and I knew right away that this little game would work, when she looked disappointed, and we hadn't even started yet. I've wanted more "spoons" for years and haven't found a way yet to get more, why should she? I also told her to always be conscious of how many she had, and not to drop them because she can never forget she has Fibromyalgia.
I asked her to list off the tasks of her day, including the most simple. As, she rattled off daily chores, or just fun things to do; I explained how each one would cost her a spoon. When she jumped right into getting ready for work as her first task of the morning, I cut her off and took away a spoon. I practically jumped down her throat. I said " No! You don't just get up. You have to crack open your eyes, and then realize you are late. You didn't sleep well the night before. You have to crawl out of bed, and then you have to make your self something to eat before you can do anything else, because if you don't, you can't take your medicine, and if you don't take your medicine you might as well give up all your spoons for today and tomorrow too." I quickly took away a spoon and she realized she hasn't even gotten dressed yet. Showering cost her a spoon, just for washing her hair and shaving her legs. Reaching high and low that early in the morning could actually cost more than one spoon, but I figured I would give her a break; I didn't want to scare her right away. Getting dressed was worth another spoon. I stopped her and broke down every task to show her how every little detail needs to be thought about. You cannot simply just throw clothes on when you are sick. I explained that I have to see what clothes I can physically put on, if my hands hurt that day buttons are out of the question. If I have bruises that day, I need to wear long sleeves, and if I have a fever I need a sweater to stay warm and so on. If my hair is falling out I need to spend more time to look presentable, and then you need to factor in another 5 minutes for feeling badly that it took you 2 hours to do all this.
I think she was starting to understand when she theoretically didn't even get to work, and she was left with 6 spoons. I then explained to her that she needed to choose the rest of her day wisely, since when your "spoons" are gone, they are gone. Sometimes you can borrow against tomorrow's "spoons", but just think how hard tomorrow will be with less "spoons". I also needed to explain that a person who is sick always lives with the looming thought that tomorrow may be the day that a cold comes, or an infection, or any number of things that could be very dangerous. So you do not want to run low on "spoons", because you never know when you truly will need them. I didn't want to depress her, but I needed to be realistic, and unfortunately being prepared for the worst is part of a real day for me.
We went through the rest of the day, and she slowly learned that skipping lunch would cost her a spoon, as well as standing on a train, or even typing at her computer too long. She was forced to make choices and think about things differently. Hypothetically, she had to choose not to run errands, so that she could eat dinner that night.
When we got to the end of her pretend day, she said she was hungry. I summarized that she had to eat dinner but she only had one spoon left. If she cooked, she wouldn't have enough energy to clean the pots. If she went out for dinner, she might be too tired to drive home safely. Then I also explained, that I didn't even bother to add into this game, that she was so nauseous, that cooking was probably out of the question anyway. So she decided to make soup, it was easy. I then said it is only 7pm, you have the rest of the night but maybe end up with one spoon, so you can do something fun, or clean your apartment, or do chores, but you can't do it all.
I rarely see her emotional, so when I saw her upset I knew maybe I was getting through to her. I didn't want my friend to be upset, but at the same time I was happy to think finally maybe someone understood me a little bit. She had tears in her eyes and asked quietly "How do you do it? Do you really do this everyday?" I explained that some days were worse then others; some days I have more spoons then most. But I can never make it go away and I can't forget about it, I always have to think about it. I handed her a spoon I had been holding in reserve. I said simply, "I have learned to live life with an extra spoon in my pocket, in reserve. You need to always be prepared"
Its hard, the hardest thing I ever had to learn is to slow down, and not do everything. I fight this to this day. I hate feeling left out, having to choose to stay home, or to not get things done that I want to. I wanted her to feel that frustration. I wanted her to understand, that everything everyone else does comes so easy, but for me it is one hundred little jobs in one. I need to think about the weather, my temperature that day, and the whole day's plans before I can attack any one given thing. When other people can simply do things, I have to attack it and make a plan like I am strategizing a war. It is in that lifestyle, the difference between being sick and healthy. It is the beautiful ability to not think and just do. I miss that freedom. I miss never having to count "spoons".
After we were emotional and talked about this for a little while longer, I sensed she was sad. Maybe she finally understood. Maybe she realized that she never could truly and honestly say she understands. But at least now she might not complain so much when I can't go out for dinner some nights, or when I never seem to make it to her house and she always has to drive to mine. I gave her a hug when we walked out of the diner. I had the one spoon in my hand and I said "Don't worry. I see this as a blessing. I have been forced to think about everything I do. Do you know how many spoons people waste everyday? I don't have room for wasted time, or wasted "spoons" and I chose to spend this time with you."
Ever since this night, I have used the spoon theory to explain my life to many people. In fact, my family and friends refer to spoons all the time. It has been a code word for what I can and cannot do. Once people understand the spoon theory they seem to understand me better, but I also think they live their life a little differently too. I think it isn't just good for understanding Fibromyalgia, but anyone dealing with any disability or illness. Hopefully, they don't take so much for granted or their life in general. I give a piece of myself, in every sense of the word when I do anything. It has become an inside joke. I have become famous for saying to people jokingly that they should feel special when I spend time with them, because they have one of my "spoons".

Friday, March 17, 2006

Peeves

On-going Project...

I'm going to copy cat Betsey's idea. :)

Favorites

On-going Project...

Flowers - Stargazer Lilies, alstromoeria

Perfume - Angel

Beverage - Coca~Cola

Food at Jack in the Box - two tacos, no sauce, extra cheese with buttermilk ranch, regular fries

Thursday, March 16, 2006

Sugar Pants

Terms of endearment. No, not the movie, although that was just as bad...

I hate them. I especially hate when someone I don't know calls me one. "Hon", "Sweetie"...


BARF!

If you don't know my name, don't make one up. I am not your honey and I am most definitely not sweet.

*stab*

Alcohol

I far prefer to be in the company of those who, when drinking alcohol, reach contentment long before they reach capacity.

Pixie's Old School Point Playlist

Ok. Due to popular demand, here's a playlist I have going on my iPod.


4NonBlondes - Whats Up
Beck - Loser
Big Audio - The Globe
Big Audio - Rush
Bjork - Army Of Me
Bjork - It's Oh So Quiet
Blue October - Breakfast After 10
The Boo Radleys - There She Goes Again
Boss Hog - White Sand
Dramarama - Work For Food
Dramarama - Last Cigarette
Elastica - Spastica
Flaming Lips - Turn it On
Flaming Lips - She Don't Use Jelly
Garbage - Queer
Hole - Plump
Hole - Jennifer's Body
James - Laid
Jane's Addiction - Stop
Jane's Addiction - Been Caught Stealing
Jane's Addiction - Jane Says
Juliana Hatfield - My Sister
Juliana Hatfield - Spin The Bottle
Loud Lucy - Ticking
Machines of Loving Grace - Butterfly Wings
Material Issue - Kim The Waitress
The Mighty Mighty Bosstones - Someday I Suppose
The Mighty Mighty Bosstones - The Impression That I Get
Nirvana - Heart Shaped Box
Nirvana - Lithium
Paul Simon - You Can Call Me Al
Peter Gabriel - Kiss That Frog
Peter Gabriel - Solsbury Hill
PJ Harvey - Down By The Water
Porno For Pyros - Tahitian Moon
Porno for Pyros - Pets
Radiohead - Karma Police
Radiohead - Creep
Radiohead - Black Star
Republica - Ready to go
School Of Fish - Three Strange Days
Sonic Youth - Bull In The Heather
Sonic Youth - Becuz
Stereo Mcs - Connected
STP - Plush
That Dog - Old Timer
That Dog - Lip Gloss
The The - Dogs Of Lust
Veruca Salt - Don't Make Me Prove It
Ween - Push The Little Daisies
Wheatus - Teenage Dirtbag
White Zombie - Thunder Kiss '65

So, What Are You Wearing?

Why do people care about what kind of underwear I wear? That has to be one of the top questions I get online. Oh, it starts out simply enough... "Hi... ASL..." Then progresses to... "So what are you wearing?" It's funny to me that I know they are hoping and praying that I'm going to tell them I'm sitting naked in front of the computer. (There's even a song for that... Faith No More - Naked in front of the Computer.) How uncomfortable that must feel! My computer chair is that "pleather" stuff, and I know that office chairs don't get much better from there on bare skin.

"Yeah, yeah", you say. "So what kind of underwear do you wear?" Well, let me give you a bit of history.

When I was younger, I used to get caught up in buying all that Victoria's Secret kind of stuff. The less material, the more expensive, the better. My best friend would laugh at me for wasting my money and wearing essentially... strings. I'd defend my purchases by saying things like "They really ARE comfortable!" and "These aren't panties, this is *gift-wrap*!"

Barf.

Fine. I'll answer your question, and I'll answer it honestly. If you want to keep your fantasy, do not read further. Fair warning.
*
*
*
*

Mostly, I wear boxer-briefs. "GOD WHY?!" you ask. Because I have a bubble butt, and I don't like wedgies. I was dead set against going "Granny", but I knew I needed more... material than what I was currently sporting. For the transition, I tried that "boy shorts" style at first. It worked a bit, but just wasn't "it"... even those rode up, I found. So I broke down and got some expensive "Granny" panties. I really like those. I hate that I really like them. They feel great on my butt, eh... but not on my ego. While shopping for new underwear for my growing son (who prefers boxer briefs), I felt froggy and got myself a package. I fell in love. I went back and bought tons more. Love, love, love. Then one day, I went in to K-Mart on a whim. THEY have the Hanes boxer-briefs for ladies! I bought a few to try. While they are more "feminine", I still prefer the boys style. Longer in the leg for my shapely thighs.

I admit, I sometimes bust out my old Victoria's Secret strings... usually when there's laundry to be done. Don't get your hopes up though. I have a hearty supply of boxer-briefs to keep me covered.

Tuesday, November 30, 2004

Bah Humbug

I hate holidays. Even the little ones. But the more effort required from me by the holiday, the more I hate it. What do I want for Christmas? Silent nights. I want no Christmas music for 3 solid months. I want no red and green slamming me from all directions no matter where I go. I want none of those stupid mechanical singing santas and snowmen. I want no "merry christmas" from people who wouldn't otherwise say a word to me at any other time of the year.
Bah Humbug.

Thursday, May 06, 2004

Call Me Ellen

.
.
.
I have to laugh at the guys who think that because I don't want to talk about sex with them or meet them, they think that I don't like sex or am a man hater.

Silly boys.
.
.
.

Sunday, March 14, 2004

I Aint Sayin She A Gold Digga

Its amazing to me that anyone would think I'd bang someone for cash or gifts, especially after I "act like I'm all that". They can prove it to themselves quite easily. They could make up various screen names and try to chat me up. Try to get a phone call. Try to get me to meet. However, I know why they won't. They know they'll hit the same brick wall every other maggot does.

Wednesday, March 10, 2004

ADHD

.
.
.
ADHD. This is how it manifests.

I decided to wash my car.

As I start toward the garage, I notice that there is mail on the hall table.

I decide to go throught the mail before I wash the car. I lay my car keys down on the table, put the junk mail in the trash can under the table, and notice that the trash can is full.

So, I decide to put the bills back on the table and take out the trash first.

But then I think, since I'm going to be near the mailbox when I take out the trash anyway, I may as well pay the bills first. I take my checkbook off the table and see that there is only on check left.

My extra checks are in my desk in the study, so I go to my desk where I find the can of Coke that I had been drinking.

I'm going to look for my checks, but first I need to push the Coke aside so that I don't accidentally knock it over.

I see that the Coke is getting warm, and I decide I should put it in the refrigerator to keep it cold.

As I head toward the kitchen with the Coke, a vase of flowers on the counter catches my eye...they need to be watered.

I set the Coke down on the counter, and I discover my reading glasses that I've been searching for all morning.

I decide I better put them back on my desk, but first I am going to water the flowers.

I set the glasses back down on the counter, fill a container with water and suddenly I spot the TV remote someone left it on the kitchen table.

I realize that tonight when we go to watch TV, we will be looking for the remote, but nobody will remember that its on the kitchen table...so I decide to put it back in the den where it belongs....but first I'll water the flowers.

I splash some water on the flowers, but most of it spills on the floor.

So, I set the remote back down on the table, get some towels to wipe up the spill.

Then I head down the hall trying to remember what I was planning to do.

At the end of the day, the car isnt washed, the bills aren't paid, there is a warm can of Coke sitting on the counter, the flowers aren't watered, there is still only one check in my checkbook, I cant find the remote, I cant find my glasses, and I dont remember what I did with the car keys.

Then I try and figure out why nothing got done today, Im really baffled because I know I was busy all day long, and I'm really tired.

I realize this is a serious problem and I'll try to get some help for it, but first I'll check my email.

Turn the computer on and the phone rings.

Go to answer the phone, chat for a bit, then say my goodbyes.

Hang the phone up and go to the Den to watch some TV, walking first past the computer not noticing that I have left it on....

So... Where IS that Remote??
.
.
.

An Apple A Day... Let's Go To The Shooting Range!

.
.
.
Think about this:

A. The number of physicians in the US is 700,000.
B. Accidental deaths caused by Physicians per year is 120,000.
C. Accidental deaths per physician is 0.171.
(US Dept. of Health & Human Services)

Then think about this:
A. The number of gun owners in the US is 80,000,000.
B. The number of accidental gun deaths per year is 1,500.
C. The number of accidental deaths per gun owner 0.0000188.

Statistically, doctors are approximately 9,000 times more dangerous than gun owners.

FACT: NOT EVERYONE HAS A GUN, BUT ALMOST EVERYONE HAS AT LEAST ONE DOCTOR.

Please alert your friends to this alarming threat. We must ban doctors before this gets out of hand.

.
.
.